Skip to content

April 23 Newsletter

St. John Vianney Catholic School

501 N. Water Avenue; Gallatin, TN 37066; 615-230-7048; www.saintjohnvianney.org        

 

Believing that each child is a gift from God to be cherished, guided,

and protected, the mission of St. John Vianney Catholic School is to

assist families and the Church in their responsibility of forming

educated Christians who lovingly serve God in this life, so as to be

with Him forever in the next

 

 

News for the week of April 23 – April 30, 2014

 

Letter from the Principal

Dear SJV families:

 

I hope you are as excited as I am about our fourth annual all-school play this weekend.  I think SJV is unique in that our play is an event for all students to participate.  If you come to one of the performances on Friday evening or Saturday afternoon (and I hope you do!) you will see a production of “Charlotte’s Web” with performers from Pre-K all the way up to 8th grade.  I love that we have the opportunity to celebrate the many talented and charismatic students here each year.  This is definitely a show that you don’t want to miss! 

Enjoy the spring weather and have a great week! 

Jennifer McCormick

Principal

 

NEWS FOR THE WEEK:

 

FOURTH ANNUAL SCHOOL PLAY – “CHARLOTTE’S WEB” on Friday, April 25th at 6pm and Saturday, April 26th at 1pm.  Join us as Charlotte, Fern, Templeton, and all the barnyard animals try and save Wilbur!  We think you will agree he is “some pig!”   Hope to see you there!

 

MAY CROWNING  will be at all-school Mass on Thursday, May 1 at 8am.  All students are asked to bring a flower (this can be any type of flower – store bought or from your yard) to present to Mary in the opening procession.

STILL NEED VOLUNTEER HOURS?  Many of you have been asking for ways to earn your volunteer hours so here is a list of some upcoming opportunities:

School Play: 

Set break-down after plays completion on April 26th – After play until it is done.

Athletic Banquet: set up – Thursday, May 1st 3:30 – 5:00, break-down/clean-up 7:00

Art and Music Show:  Hanging artwork: Monday, 5/5 – 7:45 – 11:00 and 12:30 – 3:00; Tuesday, 5/6 –  7:45 – 10:00; Wednesday 5/7 9:30 – 11:00 and 12:30 – 3:00 (if needed) ; chair set-up- Thursday, 5/8-  3:30 – 4:30; removal and sorting of art from walls: Monday, 5/12 – 7:45 – 11:00 and 12:30 – 3:00.

Sign-up sheets are in the school office.  Please feel free to contact the school office at 230-7048 or christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org with questions.

 

WILDCAT WEDNESDAY is on Wednesday, April 30.  The girls Volleyball team may wear their team jersey (with a white shirt underneath), blue jeans and tennis shoes.  Students in this year’s play, Charlotte’s Web, the choir, and piano students may wear their PE shirt with blue jeans and PE shoes.

SJV ANNUAL ATHLETIC BANQUET is on Thursday, May 1st at 6pm for all SJV athletes and their immediate families.  We hope you will be able to join us in our celebration.  If your child was on one of our sports teams this year, PLEASE COMPLETE AND RETURN YOUR RSVP FORM TO THE SCHOOL OFFICE BY FRIDAY, APRIL 25TH.

2014 ART AND MUSIC PROGRAM   is on Thursday, May 8TH from 5 until 7 pm.  Samples of each students art work will be displayed while our middle school choir sings and piano students tickle the ivories.  Mark your calendars for this special event!

 

POEM IN YOUR POCKET DAY   is on Thursday, April 24th.  Check our your child’s Wednesday folder for more information.

 

CIA (Community in Action) NEWS: 

Meetings from 6:00 – 7:00 pm every second in-session Monday of the month Everyone is invited and encouraged to come to these meetings.

 

Our next meeting is scheduled for May 12th and is hosted by the Pre-Kindergarten Class.

 

WAY TO GO WILDCATS! 

If you know of any current or past SJV Wildcats that deserve recognition for an outstanding achievement please contact the school office by noon on Monday and we will add it to the newsletter.

 

NEWSLETTER & WEDNESDAY FOLDER SUBMISSIONS:  If you have a submission for the Newsletter or Wednesday Folder, please send them to Mrs. McCormick for approval by noon on the Monday prior.  Thank you!

 

“FRIEND” US ON FACEBOOK:  Check out our Facebook page for up to the date news and information on our school.  Search “St. John Vianney Catholic School – Gallatin” to find us!

DATES TO REMEMBER:

4/25:      School Play – 6pm

4/26:      School Play – 1pm

4/30:      Wildcat Wednesday

5/1:        May Crowning at Mass

                Athletic Banquet at 6pm

5/8:        Art and Music Show at 5pm

 

HAPPENINGS AROUND THE DIOCESE

Pope John Paul II High School is calling all athletes, science sleuths, comic book fans, history buffs, and all around fun seekers to sign up for their Camp JPII this summer! Check out our list of over 35 camps on our website, http://www.jp2hs.org/camp. Register today!

 

Father Ryan High School Graduation – May 11 at Curb Event Center. Baccalaureate Mass will be on Saturday, May 10 at 6:00 pm in the Catignani-Drennan Fieldhouse on Father Ryan’s campus. A reception immediately following the Mass will be in the Dining Hall and Senior Patio.

Graduation is on Sunday, May 11 at 4:00 pm at Belmont University’s Curb Event Center. Admission tickets are required. Father Ryan’s Reunion 2014Weekend.​  Father Ryan Reunion Weekend is May 30-June 1. Friday kicks off with the Alumni Reception at the Center for the Arts 6:00-8:00pm.  ​Saturday is the Lou Graham Alumni Tournament held at Champions Run Golf Course at 8:00am followed by class reunion parties the evening. Sunday concludes the weekend with the Golden Grad Mass in the Center for the Arts at 10:00am​and brunch in the dining hall at 11:30am​

For more information and event details, visit www.fatherryan.org/reunions.

 

REGISTRATION FOR CAMP ST. CECILIA 2014 IS NOW OPEN.Camp St. Cecilia offers excellent instruction for girls ages 4-17 by experienced instructors. New camps this year include, American Girl Camp, CSI: Nashville, LEGO robotics, Storybook Ballet, Golf Academy, and Camp JOY with the Dominican Sisters. Visit www.stcecilia.edu to register. For more information, contact Amie Pike, Camp St. Cecilia Director, at scacamp@stcecilia.edu or (615) 298-4525 ext. 660.

 

Cooking camps at Camp St. CeciliaThe kitchen is open at Camp St. Cecilia this summer! From baking and dessert wars to cake decorating, girls can foster this hobby while having fun at St. Cecilia. Cooks can also heat up the kitchen in the Cooking Around the World camp. In the Sugar on Top camp, girls will bake assorted cupcakes and also learn decorating techniques. To register for these and other camps, visit www.stcecilia.edu. For more information, please contact Camp Director, Amie Pike at scacamp@stcecilia.edu or (615) 298-4525 ext. 660.

 

SJV EMAIL DIRECTORY

Jennifer McCormick:  jennifer.mccormick@saintjohnvianney.org

Christi Kemp:  christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org

Rachel Hitchcock:  rachel.hitchcock@saintjohnvianney.org

Monica Krampotich:  monica.krampotich@saintjohnvianney.org

Erin Thompson:  erin.thompson@saintjohnvianney.org

Karen Sneed:  karen.sneed@saintjohnvianney.org

Adrianna Wright:  adrianna.wright@saintjohnvianney.org

Julie Starr:  julie.starr@saintjohnvianney.org

Miriam McGill:  miriam.mcgill@saintjohnvianney.org

Katie Rosenblatt:  katie.rosenblatt@saintjohnvianney.org

Bethany Schwieter:  bethany.schwieter@saintjohnvianney.org

Cynthia Roberts:  cynthia.roberts@saintjohnvianney.org

Casey Raybourne: casey.raybourne@saintjohnvianney.org

Kelly Gulleman:  kelly.gulleman@saintjohnvianney.org

Bernie Vaughn:  bernie.vaughn@saintjohnvianney.org

Nicole Crump:  nicole.crump@saintjohnvianney.org

 

“For we walk by faith, not by sight.”

2 Corinthians 5:7

Comments are closed.