Skip to content

March 12 Newsletter

St. John Vianney Catholic School

501 N. Water Avenue; Gallatin, TN 37066; 615-230-7048; www.saintjohnvianney.org        

 

Believing that each child is a gift from God to be cherished, guided,

and protected, the mission of St. John Vianney Catholic School is to

assist families and the Church in their responsibility of forming

educated Christians who lovingly serve God in this life, so as to be

with Him forever in the next

 

 

News for the week of March 12 – March 25 2014

 

Letter from the Principal

Dear SJV Families:

 

Excitement is building for Spring Break!  Almost every student I have talked to this week has mentioned their plans for the upcoming week.  I pray that you all have a relaxing, safe, enjoyable break and return to school on March 24 ready to begin our fourth and final quarter of the 2013-2014 school year.

 

Thank you for all you do!

 

Jennifer McCormick

 

NEWS FOR THE WEEK:

 

EARLY-BIRD REGISTRATION DEADLINE FOR THE SJV WILDCAT 5K IS ALMOST HERE…IT’S TOMORROW!   Don’t forget to sign up for our inaugural SJV Wildcat 5K Run/Walk on Saturday, April 5.  Online registration is available at www.imathlete.com/events/sjvwildcat5k.  The price goes up after March 13th so don’t delay! 

 

YOU DON’T HAVE TO BE A RUNNER TO BE IN OUR 5K!  JOIN THE WILDCAT WALKERS GROUP!

 

SPRING UNIFORM CONSIGNMENT SALE IS TUESDAY, MARCH 25THin the school gymnasium from 2 – 4 pm.  This is a great time to get some of the items you need for the spring uniform change on April 1st without having to drive all the way to Nashville! 

 

CIA (Community in Action) NEWS: 

Meetings from 6:00 – 7:00 pm every second in-session Monday of the month Everyone is invited and encouraged to come to these meetings.

 

THANK YOU TO MRS. KIRBY GARDNER AND MRS. KAREN ADAMS for heading up this year’s Barnes and Noble Book Fair benefitting SJV!  SJV Night in the store was a big hit with all the families that attended and with the shoppers dropping by to listen!  If you didn’t make it by, it’s not too late to be part of this special event.  You can still order on-line through the end of Sunday, March 16th.

 

Thank you to Mrs. Raybourne, Megan McCormick, Danielle Rosselli, and Nick Valle for their presentation at the March CIA meeting and for watching the kiddos while their parents were at the meeting.  Please check out the attached minutes from the meeting and find out what you missed!  Hope to see you there in April!

 

 

WAY TO GO WILDCATS!  Congratulations to Maddy Bennett and Tessa Kemp on their basketball team winning the league championship on March 8th and the tournament championship on March 11th.  Way to go Wildcats!!

 

If you know of any current or past SJV Wildcats that deserve recognition for an outstanding achievement please contact the school office by noon on Monday and we will add it to the newsletter.

 

NEWSLETTER & WEDNESDAY FOLDER SUBMISSIONS:  If you have a submission for the Newsletter or Wednesday Folder, please send them to Mrs. McCormick for approval by noon on the Monday prior.  Thank you!

 

“FRIEND” US ON FACEBOOK:  Check out our Facebook page for up to the date news and information on our school.  Search “St. John Vianney Catholic School – Gallatin” to find us!

DATES TO REMEMBER:

3/14/14:                               Teacher Professional Development – No School for Students

3/17-21:                               Spring Break – School Closed

3/26/14:                               Wildcat Wednesday (volleyball)

 

                 

HAPPENINGS AROUND THE DIOCESE

 

ST JOHN VIANNEY’S 29th Annual ST. PATRICK’S/ST. JOSEPH’S DINNER Saturday, March 15, 2014

 4:40 p.m. until 7:30 p.m.  $12.00 for Adults, $6:00 for children under age 12.  Tickets on sale after each Mass this weekend.

 

Pope John Paul II High School is calling all athletes, science sleuths, comic book fans, history buffs, and all around fun seekers to sign up for their Camp JPII this summer! Check out our list of over 35 camps on our website, http://www.jp2hs.org/camp. Register today!

 

 

REGISTRATION FOR CAMP ST. CECILIA 2014 IS NOW OPEN. Camp St. Cecilia offers excellent instruction for girls ages 4-17 by experienced instructors. New camps this year include, American Girl Camp, CSI: Nashville, LEGO robotics, Storybook Ballet, Golf Academy, and Camp JOY with the Dominican Sisters. Visit www.stcecilia.edu to register. For more information, contact Amie Pike, Camp St. Cecilia Director, at scacamp@stcecilia.edu or (615) 298-4525 ext. 660.

 

Cooking camps at Camp St. Cecilia The kitchen is open at Camp St. Cecilia this summer! From baking and dessert wars to cake decorating, girls can foster this hobby while having fun at St. Cecilia. Cooks can also heat up the kitchen in the Cooking Around the World camp. In the Sugar on Top camp, girls will bake assorted cupcakes and also learn decorating techniques. To register for these and other camps, visit www.stcecilia.edu. For more information, please contact Camp Director, Amie Pike at scacamp@stcecilia.edu or (615) 298-4525 ext. 660.

 

Father Ryan Hosts Naval Academy Glee Club  The Naval Academy Glee Club will be performing at Father Ryan’s Center for the Arts on Thursday, March 13

at 10 am. The show will last approximately one hour. This event is free and open to the public. For more information, please go to fatheryan.org.

SJV EMAIL DIRECTORY

Jennifer McCormick:  jennifer.mccormick@saintjohnvianney.org

Christi Kemp:  christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org

Rachel Hitchcock:  rachel.hitchcock@saintjohnvianney.org

Monica Krampotich:  monica.krampotich@saintjohnvianney.org

Erin Thompson:  erin.thompson@saintjohnvianney.org

Karen Sneed:  karen.sneed@saintjohnvianney.org

Adrianna Wright:  adrianna.wright@saintjohnvianney.org

Julie Starr:  julie.starr@saintjohnvianney.org

Miriam McGill:  miriam.mcgill@saintjohnvianney.org

Katie Rosenblatt:  katie.rosenblatt@saintjohnvianney.org

Bethany Schwieter:  bethany.schwieter@saintjohnvianney.org

Cynthia Roberts:  cynthia.roberts@saintjohnvianney.org

Casey Raybourne: casey.raybourne@saintjohnvianney.org

Kelly Gulleman:  kelly.gulleman@saintjohnvianney.org

Bernie Vaughn:  bernie.vaughn@saintjohnvianney.org

Nicole Crump:  nicole.crump@saintjohnvianney.org

 

“For we walk by faith, not by sight.”

2 Corinthians 5:7

 

Comments are closed.