Skip to content

Dec 18 Newsletter

St. John Vianney Catholic School

501 N. Water Avenue; Gallatin, TN 37066; 615-230-7048; www.saintjohnvianney.org        

 

Believing that each child is a gift from God to be cherished, guided,

and protected, the mission of St. John Vianney Catholic School is to

assist families and the Church in their responsibility of forming

educated Christians who lovingly serve God in this life, so as to be

with Him forever in the next

 

News for the week of December 18 – January 7, 2014

 

Letter from the Principal:

 

Dear SJV Families:

 

As we close out the first semester of 2013-2014, I want to take this opportunity to thank you all for entrusting us with your children.  We are blessed to have each and every child and family here at SJV, and have enjoyed seeing the children’s growth over the past few months.

 

Please have a safe, happy and healthy Christmas break!  I pray that all of you will have a wonderful holiday and will return in January to enthusiastically begin the second half of our school year.

 

Thank you again for being a part of the SJV family!

 

In Christ,

Jennifer McCormick

 

 

NEWS FOR THE WEEK:

 

THE SJV SCHOOL CHRISTMAS PROGRAM IS TOMORROW NIGHT AT 6PM  

Students in grades Pre-K through 2nd, as well as some 8th graders, will have roles that require costumes.  Your child’s teacher should have contacted you with what each child will need to wear to coordinate with the costume.  All other students should wear Christmas/church attire.  No jeans, please.  Also, ladies should wear skirts/dresses of appropriate length/style.  We ask that all students arrive at the church by 5:45 unless otherwise instructed by their teacher. Thank you and see you tomorrow night!

 

RE-REGISTRATION BEGINS THURSDAY, JANUARY 9TH  Re-registration for the 2014-2015 school year will begin on 1/9.  Plan on registering early so that you can take advantage of the early bird rate of $50 dollars.  Fees go up to $100 on January 27, so don’t delay!

 

TRYING TO FIND THE PERFECT GIFT FOR THAT HARD TO BUY FOR ATHLETE IN YOUR FAMILY?  GIVE THE GIFT OF 5K!  Registration is now available on-line for the SJV Wildcat 5K at Triple Creek Park on April 5, 2014.  Simply click on www.imathlete.com/events/sjvwildcat5k and register today!  Paper registration forms are available on our website or in the school office.

 

THE SCHOOL YEAR IS ALMOST HALF-WAY OVER…..HOW ARE YOU DOING ON YOUR VOLUNTEER HOURS?  If you have any questions about how many of your required hours have been logged, please contact the school office via email at christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org and we will send a copy of your family hours log home.  Please remember that families applying for financial aid will not be considered if they have not made satisfactory progress toward completing their volunteer hour commitment.

 

THE SJV ACOUSTIC EVENING AND SILENT AUCTION  featuring Eddy Raven, Frank Myers, Billy Montana, Jimmy Nichols, and Danny Wells is scheduled for Saturday, February 15th at 6:30 in the social hall.  Check out your child’s Wednesday folder for event and ticket information.  

 

MASS CHANGES   Due to changes in Father Gideon’s schedule the school Mass schedule has been changed.  We will not be having Mass on Jan. 21st and 23rd.  Father has also added a feast day Mass for students in grades 2 – 8 on February 3rd.   We are sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

 

 

 

CIA (Community in Action) NEWS: 

Meetings from 6:00 – 7:00 pm every second in-session Monday of the month Everyone is invited and encouraged to come to these meetings.

Next Meeting: Monday, January, 13th -Please mark your calendars!!

 

LAST WEEK’S CIA MEETING MINUTES. Due to last week’s Snow Day, we were not able to provide the meeting minutes, but as promised they are attached this week!

 

 

WAY TO GO WILDCATS!   If you know of any present or past SJV students deserving of recognition for an exceptional achievement please let us know and we will put the information in our weekly newsletter.

 

NEWSLETTER & WEDNESDAY FOLDER SUBMISSIONS:  If you have a submission for the Newsletter or Wednesday Folder, please send them to Mrs. McCormick for approval by noon on the Monday prior.  Thank you!

 

“FRIEND” US ON FACEBOOK:  Check out our Facebook page for up to the date news and information on our school.  Search “St. John Vianney Catholic School – Gallatin” to find us!

HAPPENINGS AROUND THE DIOCESE

OUR LADY OF THE LAKE NEWS: Registration for the Wiggles Giggles Spring 2014 sale at Our Lady of the Lake will be open January 13.  Please go to www.myconsignmentmanager.com/wigglesgiggles to get a spot early.  The sale dates are Feb. 26-Mar. 1 with check-in Feb. 24 & 25.  If you have any questions, please contact Alicia 423-834-1685 or Beth 615-268-5510 or email us at ololconsignment@gmail.com.

 

Father Ryan Summer Camp Christmas Offer–it’s not too early to make your plans for Father Ryan’s Summer Camps 2014.  There is a special offer of 15% off any camp, available through Dec. 31.  Order before Christmas and you’ll receive a certificate to put under the tree.  More details available at www.fatherryan.org/camps

 

Willie Brown ’65 Memorial Basketball Tournament at Father Ryan–Come out and catch some of middle Tennessee’s finest boys basketball and continue our salute to 50 Years of Equality in Sports as we rename Father Ryan’s Christmas Tournament in memory of Willie Brown ’65.  December 26-28 in the Catignani-Drennan Fieldhouse.

 

Johnny Drennan ’85 Memorial Wrestling Invitational.  Father Ryan’s Annual Wrestling Tournament, the oldest in the state, has been renamed to honor the memory of state champion wrestler Johnny Drennan ’85.  Join us to salute him and his family and see some of the state’s best wrestlers, January 3-4, 2014.

 

SJV EMAIL DIRECTORY

Jennifer McCormick:  jennifer.mccormick@saintjohnvianney.org

Christi Kemp:  christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org

Rachel Hitchcock:  rachel.hitchcock@saintjohnvianney.org

Monica Krampotich:  monica.krampotich@saintjohnvianney.org

Erin Thompson:  erin.thompson@saintjohnvianney.org

Karen Sneed:  karen.sneed@saintjohnvianney.org

Adrianna Wright:  adrianna.wright@saintjohnvianney.org

Julie Starr:  julie.starr@saintjohnvianney.org

Miriam McGill:  miriam.mcgill@saintjohnvianney.org

Katie Rosenblatt:  katie.rosenblatt@saintjohnvianney.org

Bethany Schwieter:  bethany.schwieter@saintjohnvianney.org

Cynthia Roberts:  cynthia.roberts@saintjohnvianney.org

Casey Raybourne: casey.raybourne@saintjohnvianney.org

Kelly Gulleman:  kelly.gulleman@saintjohnvianney.org

Bernie Vaughn:  bernie.vaughn@saintjohnvianney.org

Nicole Crump:  nicole.crump@saintjohnvianney.org

 

“For we walk by faith, not by sight.”

2 Corinthians 5:7

 

Comments are closed.