Skip to content

St. John Vianney Catholic School

501 N. Water Avenue; Gallatin, TN 37066; 615-230-7048; www.saintjohnvianney.org        

 

Believing that each child is a gift from God to be cherished, guided,

and protected, the mission of St. John Vianney Catholic School is to

assist families and the Church in their responsibility of forming

educated Christians who lovingly serve God in this life, so as to be

with Him forever in the next

 

News for the week of December 11 – December 17, 2013

 

Letter from the Principal:

 

Dear SJV Families,

 

I hope you are all having a blessed Advent.  As we prepare our homes and hearts for Christmas, I thought I would share the closing prayer from today’s Advent reflection.  Perhaps you might pray it this evening with your family:

Loving and powerful God,
Some days I can only be in awe of your power and love.
You never tire of supporting me.
I constantly ask for help
knowing you will always be there.

From some place deep in my soul,
I hear you calling me by name
and I prepare with a joyful heart for your coming.

Grant me the gift of hope, patience and waiting in these Advent days
because I want the focus of my waiting to be on you.
I want to praise and glorify you with my life.
Let me live my gratitude to you, rejoicing!

Amen.

Have a wonderful week ahead!

Jennifer McCormick

 

 

NEWS FOR THE WEEK:

 

SAVE THE DATE:  THE SJV SCHOOL CHRISTMAS PROGRAM IS THURSDAY, DECEMBER 19TH.  Please join us at 6 pm in the church on Thursday, December 19th for our school’s annual Christmas Program.  The children have been working very hard to make this year’s program even better than ever……hope to see you there!

 

Students in grades Pre-K through 2nd, as well as some 8th graders, will have roles that require costumes.  Your child’s teacher should contact you with what each child will need to wear to coordinate with the costume.  All other students should wear Christmas/church attire.  No jeans, please.  Also, ladies should wear skirts/dresses of appropriate length/style.  Thank you.

 

SJV WILDCATS HOSTING A BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT THIS SATURDAY!   Come watch our 3rd and 4th grade boys’ basketball team as they take on the St. Joseph Bulldogs on Saturday, December 14th at 8 am.  Oooooooo…C – A – T – S….CATS, CATS, CATS!

 

Need Volunteer hours?  We need items donated to the concession stand for this weekend’s games.  Items needed are 16 oz Gatorade, bottled water, cereal bars, and fresh fruit.  Every ten dollars spent earns you 1 volunteer hour.  What a great way to help out the team and get your hours at the same time!

 

MERRY CHRISTMAS FROM MRS. MCCORMICK!   Mrs. McCormick wanted to give all the students and staff an early Christmas present, so she is giving them all a “Christmas attire” out-of-uniform day on Monday, December 16th.  Be sure to wear, red and/or green, or Christmas themed attire on Monday and Merry Christmas to you all!

 

 

TRYING TO FIND THE PERFECT GIFT FOR THAT HARD TO BUY FOR ATHLETE IN YOUR FAMILY?  GIVE THE GIFT OF 5K!  Registration is now available on-line for the SJV Wildcat 5K at Triple Creek Park on April 5, 2014.  Simply click on www.imathlete.com/events/sjvwildcat5k and register today!  Paper registration forms are available on our website or in the school office.

 

THE SCHOOL YEAR IS ALMOST HALF-WAY OVER…..HOW ARE YOU DOING ON YOUR VOLUNTEER HOURS?  If you have any questions about how many of your required hours have been logged, please contact the school office via email at christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org and we will send a copy of your family hours log home.

 

MIDDLE SCHOOL CHRISTMAS PARTY UPDATE  The middle school Christmas party is right around the corner, but the middle school team needs your help to make it happen!  We are asking each student to send $2 in an envelope with their name on it mark Christmas Party by Friday, December 13th so they can purchase supplies.  If you have any additional questions about the event, please contact your child’s homeroom teacher at their school email address.

 

MASS CHANGES   Due to changes in Father Gideon’s schedule the school Mass schedule has been changed.  We will not be having Mass on Jan. 21st and 23rd.  Father has also added a feast day Mass for students in grades 2 – 8 on February 3rd.   We are sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

 

 

CIA (Community in Action) NEWS: 

 

CIA MEETING UPDATE Many thanks to Mrs. Thompson and her Kindergarten class for hosting Monday evening’s CIA meeting.  Due to yesterday’s Snow Day, meeting minutes will be attached to next week’s newsletter.

 

WAY TO GO WILDCATS!   Congratulations to Jacqueline Scovel and her sister Lauren on their participation in the National Young Scholars Program at William Peace University in Raleigh, N.C. Both girls chose the crime science investigator program for their discovery strand, and did great – Way to go Wildcat!

 

NEWSLETTER & WEDNESDAY FOLDER SUBMISSIONS:  If you have a submission for the Newsletter or Wednesday Folder, please send them to Mrs. McCormick for approval by noon on the Monday prior.  Thank you!

 

“FRIEND” US ON FACEBOOK:  Check out our Facebook page for up to the date news and information on our school.  Search “St. John Vianney Catholic School – Gallatin” to find us!

HAPPENINGS AROUND THE DIOCESE

Father Ryan presents its annual Christmas Concert featuring the Father Ryan Choir, the Musical Theater Class and the Concert Band, on Thursday, December 12th at 6:30 pm in the Center for the Arts on campus.  Free and open to the public.

SJV EMAIL DIRECTORY

Jennifer McCormick:  jennifer.mccormick@saintjohnvianney.org

Christi Kemp:  christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org

Rachel Hitchcock:  rachel.hitchcock@saintjohnvianney.org

Monica Krampotich:  monica.krampotich@saintjohnvianney.org

Erin Thompson:  erin.thompson@saintjohnvianney.org

Karen Sneed:  karen.sneed@saintjohnvianney.org

Adrianna Wright:  adrianna.wright@saintjohnvianney.org

Julie Starr:  julie.starr@saintjohnvianney.org

Miriam McGill:  miriam.mcgill@saintjohnvianney.org

Katie Rosenblatt:  katie.rosenblatt@saintjohnvianney.org

Bethany Schwieter:  bethany.schwieter@saintjohnvianney.org

Cynthia Roberts:  cynthia.roberts@saintjohnvianney.org

Casey Raybourne: casey.raybourne@saintjohnvianney.org

Kelly Gulleman:  kelly.gulleman@saintjohnvianney.org

Bernie Vaughn:  bernie.vaughn@saintjohnvianney.org

Nicole Crump:  nicole.crump@saintjohnvianney.org

 

“For we walk by faith, not by sight.”

2 Corinthians 5:7

Comments are closed.