Skip to content

Oct 2 Newsletter

St. John Vianney Catholic School

501 N. Water Avenue; Gallatin, TN 37066; 615-230-7048; www.saintjohnvianney.org        

 

Believing that each child is a gift from God to be cherished, guided,

and protected, the mission of St. John Vianney Catholic School is to

assist families and the Church in their responsibility of forming

educated Christians who lovingly serve God in this life, so as to be

with Him forever in the next

 

News for the week of October 2 – October 15, 2013

 

Letter from the Principal:

Dear SJV Families:

 

First quarter has flown by!  I can’t believe that we are ready to depart for Fall Break.  As we are all away from our SJV Family for the week, whether you stay in town or go on vacation, I offer you this prayer:

 

Our holy Angel Guardian, ask the Lord to bless the journey which we undertake, that it may profit the health of our souls and bodies; that we may reach its end, and that, returning safe and sound, we may find our family in good health. Do thou guard, guide and preserve us. Amen.

 

Have a blessed week!

Jennifer McCormick

 

NEWS FOR THE WEEK:

 

SACS SURVEYS:

 

If you have not already done so, please take a moment today or tomorrow and complete the two SACS parent surveys.  Your input will help us see what we can do to improve our school.  Thank you!

 

Catholic Identity Defining Characteristics Parent and Community Survey:

 

http://www.advanc-ed.org/survey/public/2166148

 

 

AdvancED Parent Survey:

 

http://www.advanc-ed.org/survey/public/6067060

 

 

CIA (Community in Action) NEWS: 

ANOTHER FUN RUN SUCCESS!  Way to go Wildcats!  The kids ran in the 5th annual fun run on Friday, October 27th and a great time was had by all!  We had ninjas, rock stars, rambos, nerds, tie-dyed, wildcats, patriots, bandanas, and ‘we’ve got spirit’ teams all running for glory!  A lot of fun was had by all!  A special thank you to Michelle Jilek, Monica Krampotich, and Susannah McMahan for heading up this fundraising effort, and to all of the parent volunteers that helped count laps, hand out water, and cheer our wildcats on – we couldn’t have done it without you!  REMINDER – All Pledges Due Tomorrow! 

MURDER MYSTERY DINNER  Many thanks to Susan Gerstner and all the volunteers who helped make the Murder Mystery Dinner such a great evening.  Thank you also to those of you who bought tickets and attended this event.  Your generosity is appreciated!

TEE OFF FOR TECHNOLOGY GOLF TOURNAMENT-ARE YOU READY TO GOLF?  The Tee Off for Technology Golf Tournament is right around the corner – but it is not too late to come on out and play a round of golf!  Forms to register players are available in the school office and on the school website.  Hope to see you on the 28th at Bluegrass Country Club!

 

CIA MEETING:  The next CIA meeting will be Monday, October 21, 2013 from 6:00 – 7:00 pm and will be hosted by the 7th grade homeroom class.

WAY TO GO WILDCATS!  The SJV Cross Country team has completed another great season!  Thank you to all of our runners – as always, you make your school proud!  Please check out the special message (attached to this email) from Coaches Kirby and Corey Gardner about all of our SJV Cross Country Wildcats!

 

COME WATCH THE LADY WILDCATS VOLLEYBALL TEAM TAKE ON ST. JOSEPH AND ST. PIUS on Tuesday, October 15th at 5:00 in the Gym!  The Lady Cats have had a great year and our season finishes up at home!  Come out and show your Wildcat Pride and cheer the girls on to a season ending win!   OOOOOH C – A – T –S, Cats, Cats, Cats!

 

BASKETBALL SIGN-UPS ARE UNDERWAY….HAVE YOU TURNED IN YOUR REGISTRATION FORM YET? TOMORROW IS THE DEADLINE!!

fall picture day is tomorrow – oct 3RD.  Our fall picture day is scheduled for tomorrow.  This is the day that we take the class group picture and the individual student pictures for the school yearbook, so all students must wear their Mass uniforms on this day.  Please keep in mind that we will be having a picture retake day for the individual pictures, but students not present on the 3rd will not be in the group picture.  Check your child’s Wednesday folder for individual picture payment forms and check out the attachment with to the newsletter with the different ordering options.  REMINDER – CLASS PICTURES ARE PRE-PAY ONLY!  If you have not already done so, be sure to return your order envelope for class pictures tomorrow.  (extra forms are available in the school office)

 

STUDENT COUNCIL STUDENT OUTREACH FOR FALL:  PULL TAB COLLECTION FOR RONALD MCDONALD HOUSE.  Our SJV Student Council is collecting the pull tabs off aluminum cans to raise money for the Ronald McDonald House.  We will be collecting the tabs through November 7th.   The tabs will then be weighed with the total divided by student for a total weight per student.  The school with the highest weight per student wins a lunch for every student at our local McDonald’s restaurant.  Best of all, all monies raised through this recycling effort goes to the Ronald McDonald House!  For more information on this program you can contact Karen Sneed at Karen.sneed@saintjohnvianney.org or Casey Raybourne at casey.raybourne@saintjohnvianney.org

NO SCHOOL – FRIDAY, OCTOBER 4:  Just a reminder that there will be no school next Friday, October 4, as the teachers will be meeting to work on our SACS re-accreditation visit.  School will resume Monday, October 14 after we enjoy Fall Break (October 7-11).

FALL PARTIES:  The students and teachers will celebrate Fall with classroom parties on Friday, October 25 at 1:30 pm.  These parties are organized by the teachers, and parents are asked to send in $2.00 per child (in an envelope marked with the child’s name) to their homeroom teacher to help cover the cost of food and activity items.  If parent assistance is needed with the parties, teachers will send the word out for volunteers closer to the party date.

MORNING DROP OFF/AFTERNOON DISMISSAL REMINDERS:  Just a friendly reminder regarding drop off and dismissal procedures…if you need to come in to the office during these times, please park in the parking lot and walk in.  If you park your car in the drop-off/pick-up lane, this makes it difficult for other families to navigate the lane, and could be a safety hazard.  Thank you for helping keep our students safe! 

NEWSLETTER & WEDNESDAY FOLDER SUBMISSIONS:  If you have a submission for the Newsletter or Wednesday Folder, please send them to Mrs. McCormick for approval by noon on the Monday prior.  Thank you!

 

 

“FRIEND” US ON FACEBOOK:  Check out our Facebook page for up to the date news and information on our school.  Search “St. John Vianney Catholic School – Gallatin” to find us!

 

HAPPENINGS AROUND THE DIOCESE

 

Father Ryan Relay for Life Oct. 5 Father Ryan will host its annual Relay for Life on Saturday, October 5, from noon until midnight to salute cancer survivors and to raise funds for the American Cancer Society.  This has been the nation’s largest student-led Relay for Life in the nation each of the last three years.  For more information or to register, go to www.fatherryan.org/relayforlife

 

SJV EMAIL DIRECTORY

Jennifer McCormick:  jennifer.mccormick@saintjohnvianney.org

Christi Kemp:  christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org

Rachel Hitchcock:  rachel.hitchcock@saintjohnvianney.org

Monica Krampotich:  monica.krampotich@saintjohnvianney.org

Erin Thompson:  erin.thompson@saintjohnvianney.org

Karen Sneed:  karen.sneed@saintjohnvianney.org

Adrianna Wright:  adrianna.wright@saintjohnvianney.org

Julie Starr:  julie.starr@saintjohnvianney.org

Miriam McGill:  miriam.mcgill@saintjohnvianney.org

Katie Rosenblatt:  katie.rosenblatt@saintjohnvianney.org

Bethany Schwieter:  bethany.schwieter@saintjohnvianney.org

Cynthia Roberts:  cynthia.roberts@saintjohnvianney.org

Casey Raybourne: casey.raybourne@saintjohnvianney.org

Kelly Gulleman:  kelly.gulleman@saintjohnvianney.org

Bernie Vaughn:  bernie.vaughn@saintjohnvianney.org

Nicole Crump:  nicole.crump@saintjohnvianney.org

 

“For we walk by faith, not by sight.”

2 Corinthians 5:7

 

Comments are closed.