Skip to content

Sept 4 Newsletter

St. John Vianney Catholic School

501 N. Water Avenue; Gallatin, TN 37066; 615-230-7048; www.saintjohnvianney.org        

 

Believing that each child is a gift from God to be cherished, guided,

and protected, the mission of St. John Vianney Catholic School is to

assist families and the Church in their responsibility of forming

educated Christians who lovingly serve God in this life, so as to be

with Him forever in the next

 

News for the week of Sept 4 – September 10, 2013

 

Letter from the Principal:

Dear SJV Families:

 

I hope you all had a restful Labor Day weekend!  As we are now in the fourth week of school, students should be established in their routines and practicing good study habits.  The middle of the quarter interim ends this Friday, so you will see a snapshot of your child’s progress in next week’s Wednesday folder on the Interim Reports (1st through 8th grade).  If you have any questions or concerns, I urge you to contact your child’s teacher promptly.  As partners, I know we can work together to ensure your child’s success this school year!

 

I also wanted to thank those of you who joined us for Back to School Night last Thursday.  I enjoyed talking with many of you, and having the opportunity to show you the new computer lab demonstration.  If you weren’t able to attend, I hope that you will make contact with your child’s teacher, if you haven’t had the opportunity to do so already.  Consistent communication is the key to a successful parent-teacher relationship, which ultimately is a big factor in how well a student does in school.

 

Have a great week!

Jennifer McCormick

 

NEWS FOR THE WEEK:

 

FIRST FRIDAY:  Just a reminder that due to Diocesan changes, we no longer have 11:30 am dismissals on First Friday.  We will still have Adoration, Benediction, and the 8th grade will attend Mass at 11:00 am.

 

SJV VOLLEYBALL TOURNAMENT ON SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 14TH!  St. John Vianney School is hosting a volleyball tournament on the 14thCome watch our Lady Wildcats take on the St. Bernard Bears at 8, their Red Team at 9:30, and then Holy Rosary’s teams #1 and #2 at 11 and 12:30!

 

VOLUNTEERS NEEDED!  In order to host games here at SJV we need volunteers to run the concession stand, work the door, and to keep score.  This is a great way to get some of your required volunteer hours and cheer our girls on at the same time!  Can’t be here Saturday the 14th – you can still help by donating food items to the concession stand.  Items needed are canned Coke products (Coke, Diet Coke, Sprite, Dr. Pepper, etc), small Gatorades, bagged chips, fruit snacks, etc.  For every $10 of items donated you will receive one hour.

 

DO YOU PLAY PING PONG?  We have the table for you!  We currently have two “like-new” Newgy ping pong tables for sale at the bargain price of $150.00 each.   We also have two tables, in equally good condition that do not have nets.  Those are on sale for $100.00 each.  Don’t miss out on this great deal!  If you want to purchase one please contact the school office at 230-7048 or at Christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org

 

MURDER MYSTERY DINNER!  St. John Vianney School is hosting a Totally 80’s Mystery Night on Saturday, September 28, in the school social hall.  The two hour event, being presented by The Murder Mystery Co., begins at 6:30 p.m. with dinner.  Come join the fun with this interactive entertainment where guests help solve the mystery.  Costumes from the 80’s are encouraged but not required.  Money raised from this event will help buy new computers for each classroom.

 

Tickets, $40 each, may be purchased at the school Monday – Friday from 10:00 a.m. until 2:30 p.m. (cash or check only) or through www.sjvmystery.eventbrite.com (credit cards only).  Any SJV family who purchases tickets or refers someone to the event who buys tickets by September 6 will earn an out of uniform pass from Mrs. McCormick.  For more information, contact Susan at 604-3338 or Becky at 452-1883.

 

TEE OFF FOR TECHNOLOGY GOLF TOURNAMENT:  The first annual SJV Golf Tournament “Tee Off for Technology” will be Monday, October 28 at Bluegrass Country Club in Hendersonville.  We are looking for sponsors and of course, golfers.  Please check our school website (under “School Life” menu, choose “Fundraising”) for more information.  All proceeds will help purchase new computers for every classroom!

 

 

CIA (Community in Action) NEWS: 

 

SMART CARDS ARE HERE!  Thank you to all of the families who have bought/sold Smart Cards so far!  Your support of the SJV Technology Fund is greatly appreciated!  If you are interested in buying or selling Smart cards for SJV, please see the attached file. Just fill out the bottom of the flyer and send it into the school.    VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES:  We are still looking for a co-chair to work with Daniela Hutt on the Smart card fundraiser for this and next year. If you are interested, please contact Daniela Hutt at 948-0450 or at daniela_hutt@hotmail.com

 

PARENT REMINDER: THE NEXT CIA MEETING IS ON MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 16TH FROM 6 – 7 PM

 

 

 

“FRIEND” US ON FACEBOOK:  Check out our Facebook page for up to the date news and information on our school.  Search “St. John Vianney Catholic School – Gallatin” to find us!

HAPPENINGS AROUND THE DIOCESE

MARK YOUR CALENDAR FOR THE WIGGLES GIGGLES CHILDREN’S CONSIGNMENT SALE AT OUR LAKE OF THE LAKE SEPTEMBER 18-21.  There are still consignor spots available.  Please see www.wigglesgiggles.org for more information and how to sign up as a consignor.  If you have any questions, please contact Alicia at 423-834-1685 or Beth at 615-268-5510. 

Father Ryan Relay for Life Oct. 5:  Father Ryan will host its annual Relay for Life on Friday, October 5, from noon until midnight to salute cancer survivors and to raise funds for the American Cancer Society.  This has been the nation’s largest student-led Relay for Life in the nation each of the last three years.  For more information or to register, go to www.fatherryan.org/relayforlife

Boys Basketball Fundamental Skills Clinic at Father Ryan High School. Nashville Catholic Boys Basketball is offering a Boys Basketball Fundamental Skills Clinic at Father Ryan on the following dates:  August 25, September 8, 22 and 29 from 4:00-5:15.  Clinics are open to all rising 5th-8th grade boys.  The cost per session is $15.  The clinic will be run by Coach Bontrager and former Father Ryan players.  Contact Doug Bontrager at bontragerd@fatherryan.org  or Rick Reilly at nashirishbball@gmail.com

Girls Basketball Fundamental Skills and Shooting Clinic at Father Ryan. For 5th-8th grade girls:  Father Ryan High School is offering a Girls Basketball Fundamental Skills and Shooting Clinic on September 8, 22, and 29 from 4:00-5:15pm.  Clinics are open to all parochial and non- parochial girls.  The cost will be $15 per session.   Please contact Jason Larkin at larkinj@fatherryan.org

 

Father Ryan’s Opening Football Game Sept. 6thFather Ryan will honor the legacy of Coach Bill Derrick ’48 and the late Willie Earl Brown ’65, the first African-American to play in the NIL, and begin the school’s salute to 50 Years of Equality in Sports  in Tennessee at its Home Opener against  Brentwood Academy on September 6.  Tickets are available at the school’s bookstore and at the gate.   All on-campus parking passes are sold out.  More information is available at www.fatherryan.org/tickets.

 

SJV EMAIL DIRECTORY

Jennifer McCormick:  jennifer.mccormick@saintjohnvianney.org

Christi Kemp:  christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org

Rachel Hitchcock:  rachel.hitchcock@saintjohnvianney.org

Monica Krampotich:  monica.krampotich@saintjohnvianney.org

Erin Thompson:  erin.thompson@saintjohnvianney.org

Karen Sneed:  karen.sneed@saintjohnvianney.org

Adrianna Wright:  adrianna.wright@saintjohnvianney.org

Julie Starr:  julie.starr@saintjohnvianney.org

Miriam McGill:  miriam.mcgill@saintjohnvianney.org

Katie Rosenblatt:  katie.rosenblatt@saintjohnvianney.org

Bethany Moore:  bethany.moore@saintjohnvianney.org

Cynthia Roberts:  cynthia.roberts@saintjohnvianney.org

Casey Raybourne: casey.raybourne@saintjohnvianney.org

Kelly Gulleman:  kelly.gulleman@saintjohnvianney.org

Bernie Vaughn:  bernie.vaughn@saintjohnvianney.org

Nicole Crump:  nicole.crump@saintjohnvianney.org

 

“For we walk by faith, not by sight.”

2 Corinthians 5:7

Comments are closed.