Skip to content

Feb 27 Newsletter

St. John Vianney Catholic School

501 N. Water Avenue; Gallatin, TN 37066; 615-230-7048; www.saintjohnvianney.org

 

Believing that each child is a gift from God to be cherished, guided, and protected, the mission of  St. John Vianney Catholic School is to assist families and the Church in their responsibility of forming educated Christians who lovingly serve God in this life, so as to be with Him forever in the next.

 

News for the week of February 27- March 5, 2013

Letter from the Principal:

Dear SJV Families,

I hope you are all having a wonderful week so far!  The students have remarked to me that they are enjoying the new Form E ITBS booklets, because they are in color!  I think they are also enjoying a week without homework!  Please remember that when regular classes resume next week, we only have a few days left of third quarter.  Please remind your children to stay focused and dedicated to learning through the end of the year!

If you have friends or neighbors who were unable to attend our Open House, but would like to meet some of our teachers and learn more about our school, please invite them to the Northeast Private Schools Fair at Union University in Hendersonville this Saturday from 10-2.  They can, of course, also call and set up a personal tour of the school at a time that is convenient for them.

Also on Saturday, our Science Olympiad team is competing in the Regional Competition at Vol State.  The competition is fierce this year, with more teams competing than ever before.  I know they will represent SJV well!

Have a blessed week!

Jennifer McCormick

NEWS FOR THE WEEK:

GALA NEWS   

WE NEED SHOES! “The Land of OZ” is the theme for our 2013 Auction.  In keeping with that theme, we are in need of little girls used shoes (closed toe and heels) size 8-13 and red glitter.  All donated shoes will not be returned. 

-Silent and live auction items are also needed.  Please send all donations to the school office labeled gala.  Thanks in advance for your help- Your generosity is greatly appreciated!

There is an Auction meeting tonight at 7:00 pm in the Church office.

The Decorating Committee will meet this Saturday, March 2nd from 2 – 4 in the Church office.  We will be making centerpieces…hope to see you there!

WILDCAT WEDNESDAY RESCHEDULED   for Wednesday, March 6due to Catholic Day on the Hill. All Science Olympiad team members can wear their 2013 t-shirt, blue jeans, and P.E. shoesto school and show off their team spirit!

IOWA TESTING UNDER WAY!   We will be administering the IOWA standardized tests through March 8th to students grades K – 8.  Students in grades 3 and 6 will also be taking the COGAT test during this time periodSo that all students can perform at their absolute best we ask that the students get plenty of rest and eat a healthy breakfast prior to school each day.    Additionally, we ask that early dismissals and late arrivals be kept to a minimum so we have as few disruptions as possible. 

SPRING PICTURE DAY IS MARCH 13TH  Lifetouch Photography will be at our school on Wednesday, March 13th for Spring Picture Day.  If you want your child’s picture taken they may come to school wearing their Easter Best (no jeans, shorts, athletic wear, etc).  All pictures are pre-order only, so check your child’s Wednesday folder for an order form.  Order forms along with payment should be returned to the school the day of pictures.  Due to the picture formatting this year, no sibling group pictures are available.

GIRLS NIGHT OUT PAINT PARTY WITH CARLA!  Join us on March 9th for a fun night of painting, wine and food!  All money raised is being donated to the 8th grade class trip to D.C.  Check your attachments for more information.

SCHOLASTIC BOOK FAIR IS ABOUT TO START!   The spring book fair is scheduled to begin on March 18th.  Volunteers are needed to help set up on Thursday, March 14th, two adults each day to work the week of the fair (8:30 – 10:30 and 2 – 4pm), and then to break down on Friday, March 22nd at 4 pm.  If you can help please contact Anita Gad at 425-6432 or tatrt@comcast.net and let her know when you are available to work.

2013 – 2014 TUITION AND SUBSIDY INFORMATION AVAILABLETuition and subsidy information has been sent home in your child’s Wednesday folder.   Be sure to complete the subsidy section and return to the school if you are a SJV parishioner or to the pastor or church secretary of your parish if you wish to receive the Catholic subsidy.  If you have any questions please feel free to call the office at 230-7048.

2013 – 2014 FINANCIAL AIDFinancial Aid Applications can be filed at www.tads.com for the 2013-2014 school year.  The application deadline is March 31.  Please be aware that current students must have re-registered (card + fee) by that date to be considered. 

WAY TO GO WILDCATS!   If you know of any current or former Wildcat that deserves recognition on a great accomplishment please let us know by 2 pm Monday so we can include the info in our newsletter.

HAPPENINGS AROUND THE DIOCESE 

NASHVILLE CATHOLIC BASKETBALL will have try-outs Monday, March 11th at 6:00 pm at Father Ryan High School for boys currently in the 6th-8th grade who wish to participate in an AAU basketball program.  For more information, you may contact Rick Reilly at rreilly@adctn.com.

 

Girls can be a star on the St. Cecilia Academy stage at Camp St. Cecilia this summer! St. Cecilia theater director Cathie Correia Stamps along with members of the theatre program will bring out the inner-star of girls during this drama camp, held June 24-28. Girls will learn songs, dances, and dialogue from a Broadway script and showcase scenes at the end of camp. Grades 1-4 will be from 9 a.m.-12 p.m. and girls rising into grades 5-8 will be from 1-4p.m. Cost of this camp is $150. Visit www.stcecilia.edu to register and view a full listing of camps. Contact Camp Director Amie Pike at scacamp@stcecilia.edu or (615)298-4525 ext. 660.

 

Softball camp new this year at Camp St. Cecilia  Grab your bats and gloves and hit the field at the new middle school softball camp at Camp St. Cecilia. This new camp will focus on the fundamentals of throwing, hitting, catching, and fielding through various drills, activities, and small game scrimmages. Campers will try different field positions and learn specialized skills such as sliding, bunting, and slap hitting. The SCA softball coaching staff will be teaching this camp June 10-14 from 9 a.m.-12 p.m. Cost is $110. To register and view a full listing of all camps, visit www.stcecilia.edu. Contact Camp Director Amie Pike at scacamp@stcecilia.edu or (615) 298-4525 for more information.

 

“FRIEND” US ON FACEBOOK:  Check out our Face book page for up to the date news and information on our school.  Search “St. John Vianney Catholic School – Gallatin” to find us! 

SJV EMAIL DIRECTORY

Jennifer McCormick:  jennifer.mccormick@saintjohnvianney.org

Christi Kemp:  christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org

Karen Sneed:  karen.sneed@saintjohnvianney.org

Erin Thompson:  erin.thompson@saintjohnvianney.org

Melissa Montgomery:  melissa.montgomery@saintjohnvianney.org

Adrianna Wright:  adrianna.wright@saintjohnvianney.org

Jill Wise:  jill.wise@saintjohnvianney.org

Jody Daniels:  jody.daniels@saintjohnvianney.org

Katie Rosenblatt:  katie.rosenblatt@saintjohnvianney.org

Bethany Moore:  bethany.moore@saintjohnvianney.org

Cynthia Roberts:  cynthia.roberts@saintjohnvianney.org

Casey Raybourne: casey.raybourne@saintjohnvianney.org

Kelly Gulleman:  kelly.gulleman@saintjohnvianney.org

Bernie Vaughn:  bernie.vaughn@saintjohnvianney.org

Nicole Crump:  nicole.crump@saintjohnvianney.org

 

“Therefore I tell you, all that you ask for in prayer, believe that you will receive it and it shall be yours.”  Mark 11:24

 

Comments are closed.