Skip to content

Feb 13 Newsletter

St. John Vianney Catholic School

501 N. Water Avenue; Gallatin, TN 37066; 615-230-7048; www.saintjohnvianney.org

 

Believing that each child is a gift from God to be cherished, guided, and protected, the mission of  St. John Vianney Catholic School is to assist families and the Church in their responsibility of forming educated Christians who lovingly serve God in this life, so as to be with Him forever in the next.

 

News for the week of February 13 – 19, 2013

Letter from the Principal:

Dear SJV Families,

For those of you unable to join us this morning, I wanted to share with you how beautiful our Ash Wednesday Mass was.  Several moments revealed how blessed we are to come together as a family in this way.  For instance, the young Kindergartener who sat beside me was so eager to receive her ashes that she kept whispering to me in excited but hushed tones, “is it time to get the ashes yet?”  Later, the church was filled with beautiful little voices singing the “Our Father” very enthusiastically.  And even though it was a long mass, the students received compliments on their behavior and reverence from parishioners as well.

While the giving up of things is the traditional Lenten practice most of us follow, as the readings today illustrated, Lent is about renewing our hearts in their devotion to our Lord by “turning away from sin and being faithful to the Gospel.”  To accomplish this, we tend to give things up that theoretically keep us from God.  So while this season is often regarded as one of sacrifice and suffering, I would argue that it can also be a time of true joy, as we work to grow closer to God.  I witnessed this joy at Mass this morning, as our students eagerly joined together to begin Lent. 

In the words of St. Augustine,

O Lord, our Lord, you have created us for yourself
    and our hearts are restless until they rest in you.”

During this season of Lent, I pray that we all have the opportunity to renew our lives in Christ and rest our hearts in our Lord. 

With love and prayers,

Jennifer McCormick

 

NEWS FOR THE WEEK:

TENNIS SHOES ON THURSDAY!   All students will be attending a health and fitness assembly tomorrow (Thursday, February 14) which will require them to wear tennis shoes.  Please make sure to send your child with their PE shoes tomorrow, even if Thursday is not a regular PE day for them.  All students will be changing shoes prior to attending the assembly.

GALA NEWS   “The Land of OZ” is the theme for our 2013 Auction.  Please contribute to this event by attending and sharing your time and talent.   Your input (large or small) will create a successful event.   Volunteer hours will be announced.  Contact Susan Gerstner at 604-3338 if you would like to help.  Auction items are being accepted now.  The current sales can be a great source for auction items and/or baskets.   Trips, sports packages, tickets and more are great for our entertainment section.  If you have questions & ideas contact Carol Siebert at 482-7602.

SMART KIDS, SAFE KIDS PROGRAM    will be presented from February 19th – 22nd.   We have sent home permissions slips for each child in theirWednesday folder.  If you have not already done so, please complete this form and send it back to the school tomorrow so that we can schedule sessions for each grade and make arrangements for the students not participating.   If you have any questions about this program you can contact the school office at 230-7048.

WILDCAT WEDNESDAY ON FEBRUARY 27TH  for all members of the Science Olympiad team.  All team members can wear their 2013 t-shirt, blue jeans, and P.E. shoesto school and show off their team spirit!

3rd,  4th, 5th and 6th GRADE BASKETBALL PLAYERS – PLEASE RETURN YOUR UNIFORMS BY WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 20TH   uniform jerseys and shorts should be laundered and placed in a Ziploc bag with your name on it.

KNIGHTS OF COLUMBUS FISH FRY FEBRUARY 15TH  The Knights of Columbus Fish Fry is this Friday from 5:30 – 7:30.  Come by and enjoy some of the best fish around!  They also have pizza for non-fish loving folks.  Dine in and carry out available.  See you Friday!

2013 – 2014 TUITION AND SUBSIDY INFORMATION AVAILABLETuition and subsidy information has been sent home in your child’s Wednesday folder.   Be sure to complete the subsidy section and return to the school if you are a SJV parishioner or to the pastor or church secretary of your parish if you wish to receive the Catholic subsidy.  If you have any questions please feel free to call the office at 230-7048.

2013 – 2014 FINANCIAL AIDFinancial Aid Applications can be filed at www.tads.com for the 2013-2014 school year.  The application deadline is March 31.  Please be aware that current students must have re-registered (card + fee) by that date to be considered. 

CALENDAR ADDITION  Friday, February 22 is a Feast Day in the church, and was inadvertently left off the Mass schedule.  Students in grades 3-8 will attend Mass this day, and will need to wear Mass uniforms.  Please make the change in your calendar!

WAY TO GO WILDCATS!   If you know of any current or former Wildcat that deserves recognition on a great accomplishment please let us know by 2 pm Monday so we can include the info in our newsletter.

HAPPENINGS AROUND THE DIOCESE 

Father Ryan High School hosts 2012-13 Theology Speaker Series. Father Ryan will welcome Jim Keady, educator and nationally renowned speaker on social justice, on February 20 at 6:30 p.m. as part of its 2012-13 Theology Series.  Mr. Keady is the founder of Team Sweat and has lived with Nike’s Indonesian workers to document their living conditions.  His work was the subject of the documentary “Behind the Swoosh.”  The event will take place in the Center for the Arts and is open to the public, although seating is limited.

 “FRIEND” US ON FACEBOOK:  Check out our Face book page for up to the date news and information on our school.  Search “St. John Vianney Catholic School – Gallatin” to find us! 

SJV EMAIL DIRECTORY

Jennifer McCormick:  jennifer.mccormick@saintjohnvianney.org

Christi Kemp:  christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org

Karen Sneed:  karen.sneed@saintjohnvianney.org

Erin Thompson:  erin.thompson@saintjohnvianney.org

Melissa Montgomery:  melissa.montgomery@saintjohnvianney.org

Adrianna Wright:  adrianna.wright@saintjohnvianney.org

Jill Wise:  jill.wise@saintjohnvianney.org

Jody Daniels:  jody.daniels@saintjohnvianney.org

Katie Rosenblatt:  katie.rosenblatt@saintjohnvianney.org

Bethany Moore:  bethany.moore@saintjohnvianney.org

Cynthia Roberts:  cynthia.roberts@saintjohnvianney.org

Casey Raybourne: casey.raybourne@saintjohnvianney.org

Kelly Gulleman:  kelly.gulleman@saintjohnvianney.org

Bernie Vaughn:  bernie.vaughn@saintjohnvianney.org

Nicole Crump:  nicole.crump@saintjohnvianney.org

 

“Therefore I tell you, all that you ask for in prayer, believe that you will receive it and it shall be yours.”  Mark 11:24

Comments are closed.