Skip to content

Newsletter

St. John Vianney Catholic School

501 N. Water Avenue; Gallatin, TN 37066; 615-230-7048; www.saintjohnvianney.org

 

Believing that each child is a gift from God to be cherished, guided, and protected, the mission o

 St. John Vianney Catholic School is to assist families and the Church in their responsibility o

 forming educated Christians who lovingly serve God in this life, so as to be with Him forever in the next.

 

News for the week of September 26 – October 2, 2012

 

Letter from the Principal:

 

Dear SJV families,

 

As the month of September winds down, I know many minds are on our upcoming Fall Break.  However, the month of October brings many more exciting things to SJV!

 

We will begin the month with our Student Government assembly and elections.  Mrs. Sneed and Mrs. Raybourne have brought opportunities for student leadership back to SJV!  The students have gathered to learn what they can do as official student leaders, and even met with members of JPII’s student government to learn how this can play an important role in the future of the student, as well as the school.

 

Other important upcoming events are:

 

  • Our 8th graders will be visiting all three Catholic high schools in October, as they begin to ascertain where they will continue their education once they graduate from SJV in May. 

 

  • Parents and teachers will meet to discuss student progress during the first quarter of the school year on October 19.  Appointments will be scheduled and information will be in next week’s Wednesday folder.

 

  • Our School Board is hosting a Murder Mystery Dinner Show on Saturday, October 20 to benefit our Technology Upgrade Fund.  I hope to see you there!

 

  • We will round out the month with Explore tests for 7th and 8th graders, the Fall Party, and the 1st Annual PTP Homecoming Picnic.  It’s another great month at SJV!

 

Have a fabulous week!

Jennifer McCormick

 

 

NEWS FOR THE WEEK:

PTP NEWS: 

IT’S PARTY TIME AT SJV!

To help the room parents plan and cover the cost of our first “All School Party” on Friday October 26th, we are asking that each child send in $5 cash only pleasePlease have this money into your child’s homeroom teacher by Friday September 28, 2012.  The envelope or Ziplock bag should have your child’s name and grade on the front of and be labeled “party money”. Thanks so much!

80’s MURDER MYSTERY DINNER SHOW!

Join us for a fun evening and help solve a murder!  Check your child’s Wednesday folder for more information.

REMINDER – ALL FUN RUN MONEY IS DUE BY FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 28TH

 

CALLING ALL WILDCATS!

Middle Tennessee Swim Club (MTSC) is sponsoring a Middle School Swim Meet on Saturday, October 27th for swimmers in grades 6 – 8. The meet will be held at the JFFC in Lebanon. If you would like to represent SJV in this event, please contact Daniela Hutt  at 948-0450 or daniela_hutt@hotmail.com for more information.

 

PARISH APPRECIATION WEEKEND OCT. 20TH & 21ST:  In order to show our appreciation for everything SJV parishioners do to support the school, students participate in parish Masses once per month by reading the petitions and bringing up the gifts.  The first Parish Appreciation weekend will be October 20-21, and student volunteers are needed.  Any student in 3rd-8th grade who has made his/her First Holy Communion is eligible to participate, even if the family is registered at another parish.  Please contact the office and indicate if your child/children would like to read or bring up the gifts, and if you prefer the 4:30 pm Saturday Mass, or the 8:00 am or 10:30 am Sunday Mass.

 

CALLING ALL ELECTRICIANS Are you an electrician and are looking for a way to get some service hours for your family?  We have several lights not working in the school and we think that the ballasts are bad and need to be changed out.  If this is something you are interested in doing please contact Christi Kemp at 230-7048 or christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org

LACE AND GRACE LUNCHEON THIS SATURDAY IN THE SOCIAL HALL : The parish St. Martha’s Guild has 65 signed up for the Lace and Grace luncheon on Saturday! They would love to have more! The table hostesses are busy planning a lovely table-scape for your enjoyment. If you want to attend and haven’t signed up yet or if you are coming and would like to bring someone with you, please contact Mary Garretson at marygarretson@comcast.net.  Guest speaker, Sonja Corbitt’s, message “Letting Grace Lead Us to Abundant Life” will be a blessing to all who hear it. LindyRausch’s Everyday Gourmet lunch promises to be delicious. So…take a couple hours for yourself this Saturday and join the St. Martha’s Guild from11:30-2:00 pm in the St. John Vianney Social Hall. Fun, fellowship and food! What more could you ask for? Oh yes- door prizes!

 

OUR LORD’S TREASURE CHEST ONLINE STOREThe Lennon family (Adeline, 5th grade) is pleased to announce the launch of their new online store, OurLordsTreasureChest.com, a “faith boutique” offering handmade chaplets, rosaries, dolls, rosary pouches, and more. To celebrate our opening, all purchases made by SJV members, family, and friends throughout the year will help our school.  Simply use the code “SJV” in the Comment box during checkout, and a portion of that sale will go directly to the school!  “Like” us on Facebook to spread the word and help our school.

 “FRIEND” US ON FACEBOOK:  Check out our Facebook page for up to the date news and information on our school.  Search “St. John Vianney Catholic School – Gallatin” to find us!

News from around the Diocese:

Father Ryan Open House.  Father Ryan will host its annual Open House for interested students and their parents on Sunday, October 21, beginning at 12:30 in the Catignani-Drennan Fieldhouse.  The event will provide a comprehensive look at all aspects of the school’s program, including academics, the arts, athletics and service opportunities.  For more information, visit www.fatherryan.org/admissions.

SJV EMAIL DIRECTORY

JenniferMcCormick:  jennifer.mccormick@saintjohnvianney.org

ChristiKemp:  christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org

Karen Sneed:  karen.sneed@saintjohnvianney.org

ErinThompson:  erin.thompson@saintjohnvianney.org

Melissa Montgomery:  melissa.montgomery@saintjohnvianney.org

Adrianna Wright: adrianna.wright@saintjohnvianney.org

Jill Wise:  jill.wise@saintjohnvianney.org

Jody Daniels: jody.daniels@saintjohnvianney.org

Katie Rosenblatt:  katie.rosenblatt@saintjohnvianney.org

Bethany Moore:  bethany.moore@saintjohnvianney.org

CynthiaRoberts: cynthia.roberts@saintjohnvianney.org

CaseyRaybourne: casey.raybourne@saintjohnvianney.org

Carla Wehby: carla.wehby@saintjohnvianney.org

Bernie Vaughn: bernie.vaughn@saintjohnvianney.org

NicoleCrump: nicole.crump@saintjohnvianney.org

 

“Therefore I tell you, all that you ask for in prayer, believe that you will receive it and it shall be yours.”  Mark 11:24

Comments are closed.