Skip to content

Sept. 5 Newsletter

St. John Vianney Catholic School

501 N. Water Avenue; Gallatin, TN 37066; 615-230-7048; www.saintjohnvianney.org

News for the week of September 5 – 11, 2012

 

Letter from the Principal:

Dear SJV families,

 

Please check this week’s Wednesday folder for an opportunity to help create our 10th anniversary SJV Spirit Shirt!  We are compiling a list of the top ten reasons that families love SJV, and we’re also looking for design ideas for the front of the shirt.  We hope every family will participate.  Please send your lists and design submissions to the office by next Friday, September 14.

 

The SJV Cross Country Team is participating in the first diocesan meet of the season this Sunday, September 9 at 1:00 pm at Overbrook School in Nashville.  The weather is supposed to be beautiful, so come on out and cheer on our Wildcat runners!

 

Make sure to read on for important reminders for next Friday’s Fun Run.  This is the PTP’s biggest fundraiser of the year, and also a great opportunity for sharing a fun afternoon of school spirit.  Go Wildcats!

 

Have a wonderful week!

 

Jennifer McCormick

 

 

NEWS FOR THE WEEK:

 

PARENT REMINDER:  Don’t forget that this Friday, September 7 is an 11:30 am dismissal day. 

 

PTP NEWS: 

THE FUN RUN    Is Friday September 14th at 12:45.  All forms (tee shirt, pledge sheet- in its entirety, and volunteer form) are due back to the school by September 12th.Please keep in mind that you must sign and return the pledge form if your child will be running – even if there are no donations on it.  This form is also the parental permission form.  If your child is running the dress is as follows:

PK – 1st grade:  please wear a tee shirt, shorts, and white tennis shoes/socks to school on the day of the run.

2nd: please wear PE uniform, white socks and white tennis shoes to school.

3rd – 8th:  September 14th is a feast day.  Students to wear Mass uniforms to school; grades 3 – 6 can remain in their PE uniforms after PE class; 7th and 8th will change at recess.

 Calling all Volunteers!  The race is sponsored by the 3rd and 4th grade classes every year.  Volunteers from 3rd and 4th grade, or any other interested parents will be needed to count laps, set up the race course, and cheer our runners on.    Contact Monica Krampotich at 210-7874 or Shannon Smith at 308-6501 and let them know what you can do to help!

 

BOXTOPS FOR EDUCATION/LABELS COLLECTION WINNERS! 

 Thank you to all our students for saving those box tops and soup labels!  The winners for each grade and the #1 collector in the school this time are:

PK – Jasmine Krampotich, K- Sarah Adams, 1st – Andrew Golden; 2nd grade – we had a tie between Jakob Thompson and Maggie Raynes, 4th – Zeyna Krampotich,  5th – no turn in, 6th – Nicholas Pracht, 7th – Thomas Gad, and 8th – Natalie and Rachel Cullen.

 

OUR WINNER OF “MOST LABELS COLLECTED” IS 3RD GRADER MADELINE ADAMS!

The top three classes are:  3rd grade in first place, 7th grade in second place, and Pre-K in third place.

 

Congratulations to all our winners, and remember – Keep On Clipping!

SCHOOL PICTURE DAY IS SEPTEMBER 20th          Check your child’s Wednesday folder for more information and order forms.   You should have received an envelope for a group picture and individual pictures.  Group pictures are pre-paid or on-line only – envelopes sent in day of the picture.  For individual pictures you can pre-pay (full refund or retake if dissatisfied with the picture you receive), order on line, or receive a proof (do not send envelope back).  Parent Note: group pictures do not have a re-take day.

 

 MORNING DROP OFF:  In order to keep all of our students safe, please do not go around the cones and pass stopped cars on the left side of the drop off lane.  Many children exit their cars on the left side, and we do not want anyone injured.  We do our best to quickly assist children in exiting their vehicles.  Also, if you need to talk with a teacher, please send a note, call, or email to set up an appointment.  While you may have time to talk with a teacher, the person behind you in the line may have to get to work or take another child to school.  We appreciate your consideration with both of these matters.

 

DISMISSAL UPDATENow that North Water is accessible again, please make sure to turn right toward North Water to exit the parking lot dismissal line if you are in the right lane, and turn left toward Boyer Avenue to exit the parking lot dismissal line if you are in the left lane.  This will keep the dismissal line flowing safely and swiftly for everyone.

WAY TO GO WILDCATS!  If you know of an exceptional accomplishment by one of our Wildcats that needs to be shared, please contact the school office by 2 pm on Monday for the weekly newsletter.

 

DO YOU WANT A BASKETBALL GOAL FOR YOUR BACK YARD?  If so, we have to available for $75 each.  Now that we have our new Wildcat Goals, our old ones need a new home!  Interested?  Contact the school office at 230-7048.

 

 “FRIEND” US ON FACEBOOK:  Check out our Facebook page for up to the date news and information on our school.  Search “St. John Vianney Catholic School – Gallatin” to find us!

News from around the Diocese:

JPII Knight Athletic Club Hosts Boot Scootin BBQ  HOWDY!!! Dust off those boots & enjoy a night with all your JPII cowboys & cowgirls at the 1st Annual Knight Athletic Club Boot Scootin BBQ Saturday, September 8th at 7 p.m. in JPII’s Jim Carell Athletic Complex. BBQ, adult beverages for purchase, line dancing, music & karaoke!  Tickets: $35 per couple for KAC members if purchased before September 1st. $50 per couple if not a member.  Tickets available at all home games and in the school office or contact Celeste Duzane at duzacre@comcast.net
Boots & cowboy hats not required, but encouraged!

Father Ryan’s Annual 9/11 Prayer Service.  Join us for our Annual 9/11 Prayer Service and help us recognize the men of our Hero Project.  For the last year we have been locating records on alumni from World War II who had to leave Father Ryan for the war effort and never returned to finish their education.  We’ll salute the first group of men with Honorary Diplomas that morning.  The service will begin at 8:55 am at the Catignani–Drennan Fieldhouse. Please plan to be there for this moving tribute.

Father Ryan celebrates Homecoming 2012 with game and annual Elliston Luncheon.  On Saturday, Sept. 15, Father Ryan will host its third annual Elliston Luncheon from 11 am – 1pm, in the Father Ryan Dining Hall. Our theatre alumni will be honored as we celebrate our 85 years of theatre and reflect on our 10 years in the Center for the Arts.  This event is a gathering for alumni to visit with classmates, to get updates on campus activities and plans, and to hear from current students on the Father Ryan experience.  Tickets are just $20 and you can register online atwww.fatherryan.org/homecoming.

Relay for Life.  Join us Friday, September 21st between 6 pm – 6 am for our annual Relay for Life, an all-night walk/run event held at the Jim Carell Alumni Athletic Complex.  Last year, over 800 individuals participated or sponsored this event making it the largest student-led Relay for Life in the country!  Teams are being formed now.  To join a team or help sponsor, please go to relayforlife.org/fatherryan.

SJV EMAIL DIRECTORY

Jennifer McCormick:  jennifer.mccormick@saintjohnvianney.org

Christi Kemp:  christi.kemp@saintjohnvianney.org

Karen Sneed:  karen.sneed@saintjohnvianney.org

Erin Thompson:  erin.thompson@saintjohnvianney.org

Melissa Montgomery:  melissa.montgomery@saintjohnvianney.org

Adrianna Wright:  adrianna.wright@saintjohnvianney.org

Jill Wise:  jill.wise@saintjohnvianney.org

Jody Daniels:  jody.daniels@saintjohnvianney.org

Katie Rosenblatt:  katie.rosenblatt@saintjohnvianney.org

Bethany Moore:  bethany.moore@saintjohnvianney.org

Cynthia Roberts:  cynthia.roberts@saintjohnvianney.org

Casey Raybourne: casey.raybourne@saintjohnvianney.org

Carla Wehby:  carla.wehby@saintjohnvianney.org

Bernie Vaughn:  bernie.vaughn@saintjohnvianney.org

Nicole Crump:  nicole.crump@saintjohnvianney.org

 

“Therefore I tell you, all that you ask for in prayer, believe that you will receive it and it shall be yours.”  Mark 11:24

Comments are closed.